Rustic Mushroom Tart

Recently I made a quick trip home because one of my best friends got married.. (more on this later). Whenever I make the trip I try to make something involving onions and mushrooms for my seester. (Her boyfriend won’t touch them.. so I can spoil her lol.) She brought over my fur nephew, and I grabbed this shot…..

20130509-133519.jpg
They are so cute!!! Anyways, she pinned a recipe for me and I knew I had to make it while I was in town. So glad I did because this Mushroom tart was so delicious.

20130509-131247.jpg
Super quick to make too. I slipped my grandma a piece in hopes of getting her to eat SOMETHING for lunch. Not only did she eat that one, but also the second one that I magically dropped on her plate. My sister walked through the door and promptly loved it. Shhh … don’t tell anyone but between my aunt, my grandma , my sister, and I, we may have sorta.. kinda… maybe… finished it…the entire tart. Yea, I know…

20130509-130905.jpg

    Rustic Mushroom Tart


* Adapted this recipe I found on Pinterest.

1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
2 slices bacon, chopped
2 tbsp minced yellow onion
1 clove garlic, minced
4 oz mini bella mushrooms, cleaned and rough chopped, have another 1 or 2 extra for garnish, thinly sliced.
1/2 tsp dry herbes de Provence
1/2 tsp Italian Seasoning
2 tbsp brandy
1/2 cup cream cheese
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/3 cup shredded Mozzarella or Provolone cheese

– Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.
– Roll out thawed puff pastry until there is a uniform thickness and fold over a third inch of the edge to make the crust.
– For the filling cook the garlic, onion, chopped mushrooms, bacon, Italian seasoning and herbes de provence over medium heat until the bacon is cooked through.
– Add brandy and cook until most of the liquid has evaporated.
– Remove from heat stir in the cream cheese, salt, and pepper.
– Mix in the shredded cheese and spoon into puff pastry.
– Decorate with reserved mushrooms and bake for 20 minutes or until pastry and filling are browned.

20130509-134213.jpg.
Truly, this tart was so good. It reminded me of a gourmet mushroom pizza without the tomato sauce or heavy crust. It was bursting full of flavor and would be a great pick for a meatless Monday or Friday, as well as a girls night. Make sure you have a cold glass of wine or a brandy old fashion on hand!
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

