Citrus Chamomile Cupcakes with Pineapple Honey Frosting

Hello friends! I know, I know it’s been quite awhile. The good news is, even though I have been absent from blogging for a little while, I haven’t been absent from my kitchen. So, I have lots and lots of yummy treats in store for you! I need to balance my cooking time and blogging time a little better! Today I am featuring these wonderful cupcakes our Sundays with Joy group completed this last week! (Hello fellow group members! As I have said previously I HAVE been baking along! Sorry I haven’t been around but I have been watching al your beautiful posts and trying to get my booty back in gear! Get ready for an onslaught of SWJ posts!) This weeks recipe was mini chamomile cakes with honey frosting. Here is my version….

20130426-171136.jpg…aren’t they pretty? I thought so.
So, I have a question… How many of you are coffee drinkers?…How many are you tea drinkers? How many of you drink both??.. I myself am really a coffee drinker, and after all the POTS I consumed in nursing school, I drink it a lot less. I want to be a tea drinker, really I do. I try to be a tea drinker often, but my taste buds just aren’t there yet. I’m hoping to bully them into tea being an acquired taste, but I guess we will see. My husband you ask? Well when I met him he was definitely a tea drinker. Granted he would drink more cold then hot, but a tea drinker none the less. These days he consumes both equally ( sometimes I think he just wants to play with our kuering :)) I digress.
These cupcakes have tea in them… 3 whole tablespoons! I wanted to like them so badly that I figured I would go to the store and find a tea that would make the taste a little less teaish. I found a pineapple one by Lipton and it was chamomile to boot. The Tea Gods were smiling on me 🙂 I added in some lemon and orange zests, baked ’em off, and by golly maybe (just maybe) tea isn’t so bad after all :).

20130426-172702.jpg

    Citrus Chamomile Cupcakes with Pineapple Honey Frosting


Adapted from Joy the Baker’s Mini Chamomile Cakes With Honey Frosting. Buy her book HERE!

For the Cupcakes:
1/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup all-purpose four
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
pinch salt
3 tablespoons Pineapple Chamomile Lipton herbal tea bags (I used 6 bags)
1/2 cup whole milk, room temperature
1 large egg, room temperature
1 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon orange zest
1/4 teaspoon lemon zest

– Preheat oven to 325 degrees with rack in the upper third portion.
– Line a 12 count cupcake pan with chosen liners.
– In a small bowl place tea and crunch with fingers. It was a little chunky for me and I wanted it to be finer, a great use for a mortar and pestle, or a spice grinder if you have one or both
– In a small bowl rub sugar and zests together with your fingers. It will look like wet sand and smell glorious.
– In a medium-large bowl place butter, flour, zested sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and tea. Cream together.
– In a liquid measuring cup, measure out milk, then add egg and vanilla and whisk until equally incorporated.
– Scrape down the sides of the bowl that holds your butter tea mixture, and and half the liquid. Beat until all most incorporated.
– Scrape down sides off bowl and add remaining liquid. Beat until fully incorporated but not longer then one minute.
– Fill each of the cupcake liners half full.
– Bake 15- 20 minutes. They will be done when your toothpick is clean.

For the frosting-glaze (to wet to be frosting, to dry to be glaze.. I love it anyway)

1-2 cups of powdered sugar
4 tablespoons pineapple ice cream topping
4 tablespoons heavy cream
1 tablespoon honey
pinch of salt

– Whisk or blend together pineapple topping, heavy cream, honey, and salt. Gradually add sugar until you achieve your desired taste and / or consistency. I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar because I didn’t want it any sweeter.

There you have it! A beautiful citrus chamomile cupcake that even a non tea drinker will eat!

20130426-175436.jpg

Also, as I was capturing the above pictures, my fur-nephew Nemo was waiting patiently to see if I dropped any crumbs….I truly love this picture so I had to close with it!

20130426-175720.jpg
Dream, Bake, Believe.
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

