Peanut Butter Birthday Cake with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Last post for chocolate week(s).
Our Sunday’s with Joy group made this fabulous cake and frosting back in October!
Peanut Butter Birthday Cake with Chocolate Buttercream!… I knew I had to save this cake for one very important guy…my hubby. He was been known to do this….

20130309-230724.jpg
At any time I can open a random jar of peanut butter in my house and find this….

20130309-223248.jpg (These are all 70-90% finished off).
In fact, I now have my own jar and label it “baking” so that I can count on having some around.
So, we have some friends June and George. George’s birthday is also in February. They are like 10 ish days apart..(well a couple years and 10 days). June and I used to kid about how alike Jesse and George acted. One day I saw this……

20130309-231630.jpg
I inquired if he ate peanut butter off a spoon often, to which June rolled her eyes and said yes…It’s true Jesse is officially George’s Mini Me. LOL! Last year, I made them a Back to the Future cake complete with candles for trailing fire. (Back to the Future is a frequented topic between them)
This year I was brainstorming for the better part of year until I saw this cake…chocolate and peanut butter together what could be better?! Hence this year’s Birthday cake.

20130309-223329.jpg.
The cake is really easy to put together. Whisk the dry ingredients. Cream the butter, and peanut butter, and sugars . Add the eggs. Add half of the dry ingredients. Follow with liquid (buttermilk in this case). Slowly incorporate the rest of the flour. Bake off two layers…boom.. peanut butter cake.

20130309-223527.jpg
The buttercream cream is pretty much to die for. Upscale, pretty awesome. It has cream and cocoa powder, and (get this Ovaltine!) So good!. Worth buying the whole book just for this recipe.

20130309-223506.jpg
The two together is completes awesome pair. The peanut butter cake is dense almost like a pound cake. The addition of the chocolate butter adds textural difference. This cake is best served with a big glass of cold milk!!

20130309-223431.jpg
You totally want to make it for your husband’s birthday right?! Buy Joy’s book Here.
Anyways Happy (belated) Birthday George and Jesse!
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

