Dark Chocolate Graham Cracker Dachshunds

The February Challange …..Sarah from All Our Fingers in the Pie was our February 2013 Daring Bakers’ host and she challenges us to use our creativity in making our own Crisp Flatbreads and Crackers!
It’s chocolate week here on the blog…. how about chocolate graham crackers? I was excited to try it out. The entire recipe can be thrown into a food processor (easy enough for anyone!). Then it gets rolled out and cut with cookie cutters. So, I went on a mission through my cookie cutter bin, but I just couldn’t seem to find one I liked…. A dark brown heart? no…. A dark brown palm tree? no… Just as I was about to give up I saw this at the very bottom of the bin….BINGO!

20130301-234451.jpg.
Now for those of you who haven’t known me forever Dachshunds are not just “my thing”. They run in my family…. This is Merlin…

20130302-003122.jpg
He was my parent’s very first. Obviously this was awhile ago judging by my mother’s attire.(luv ya mom!)… He was around until I hit grade school. Then we got Nigel when I was in third grade…..

20130302-003045.jpg…. hey hey no comments about our hair PUHLEEASE… thank you :). Nigel was around until 2012!

20130302-003245.jpg
These adorable cuties are Herbie and Nemo. One belongs to my parents and the other to my sister! (Told you! Family obsession!)

20130302-003412.jpg

20130302-003652.jpg Fritzie and Riley are my babies… well our babies..:). Fritzie is really a Daddy’s boy, while Riley is definitely a Mommy’s boy. I swear they are so adorable to make up for the handful they (read: FRITZ) can be sometimes. Just one more pic..lol.

20130302-003953.jpg
AWWWWW. Ok ok, I digress! The doxie cutter was just thing for my chocolate graham crackers! Which I think turned out equally as cute as my fur children, fur nephew , and fur brother…..

20130302-004156.jpg
The recipe called for half whole wheat flour and half all purpose. I liked that part. Some of the other recipes I looked at had more all purpose flour. It really has a strong taste in the finished product. If you want a healthier and heartier graham cracker I’d go with the half and half. If you are looking for a more store bought kind of graham cracker, I would go with more like 3/4 ww and 1 1/4 cup ap. Also, the recipe called for only unsweetened cocoa. I thought this would be a little bitter so I did half unsweetened and half dark chocolate. Guess what? They were still bitter…They were good if you were going to serve them with coffee, or maybe something super sweet. I will say while I wasn’t crazy about the first few bites, I found myself sneaking another cracker, and then another.. Anywho, next time (and there WILL be a next time) I am just going to sub dutch processed cocoa for the entire amount. The dough was pretty easy to roll out and the crackers came up to be transferred to the baking sheet really easily. Still thinking it’s too much work… this is roughly what it looks like…

20130302-010115.jpg
COOOMMMEEE ONNNNN! You know you wanna make these guys!

20130302-010353.jpg

Dark Chocolate Graham Cracker Dachshunds
Adapted from Weelicious
Ingredients
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder
1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup butter, very cold and chunked
1/4 cup palmetto honey
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup granulated sugar

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
– Place flours, cocoa powders, sugar, salt, cinnamon, and baking soda in bowl of food processor.
– Pulse a few times to combine.
– Add butter, water, vanilla, honey and pulse until the mixture resembles wet sand.
– Roll out to 1/4″ and cut with chosen cookie cutter.
– Bake about 15 minutes. About halfway through sprinkle with granulated sugar.
– Place on rack to cool!

20130302-015558.jpg
Dream. Bake. Love Dachshunds.
Love, Steffie, Fritz, and Riley

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

