Mickey Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Rice Treats

Day 2 of chocolate week! I loved that our group Sundays with Joy made Joy’s brown butter peanut butter rice treats this week. You see my sister has “thing” for those big block rice crispy treats at Disney World. She just finished a trip down here with one of her best friends.

20130224-235311.jpg
Are they not too cute? It was my pleasure to have them at the the house for those few days. I had so much fun and was so sorry to see them go. Anyways the trip came and went and somehow she never got her crispy treat! Personally they are alittle sweet for me, so I was pretty excited to try these out!

20130225-000406.jpg
They were missing something from the disney version though…. the chocolate! I planned on just putting a top layer of semisweet on. However, I was foiled by publix (again!)for there in the peanut butter aisle (can’t keep that stuff in my house!) I saw a dark chocolate peanut butter spread produced by Peanut Butter & Co. If you have never heard of them they are pretty awesome. All Natural. It contains no cholesterol, no trans fats, no hydrogenated oils, and no high-fructose corn syrup. It is also gluten-free and is certified vegan. Yup, they are pretty much awesome.

20130225-002021.jpg
My second plan action was to leave the chocolate off the top and just use the spread in the bars. As you can see I just couldn’t bring myself to do that. I wanted to post these for Michelle as a surprise and, ironically, she was faced which a little bit of a hectic, rough, and exciting week all rolled into one. When sharing one of these bars we always “fought” over who got more of the chocolate. The Disney bars have quite a difference in crispy to chocolate ratio. Truthfully , when I treat myself to one I cut it in half through the middle (much to thick to eat as a whole). Then I pop it into the fridge I love the textural difference between the chocolate layer and the crispy layer. The chocolate layer simply had to be included.

20130225-003543.jpg
Everyone can make rice crispy treats! They are so easy! No Bake!… Melt the butter. Stir in the peanut butter(spread) and salt. Stir in the marshmallows and melt. Stir in the crispys. Pour into pan and press into shape.

20130225-005531.jpg
Then if your like me, pour some chocolate over the top. Cut with a Mickey cookie cutter and add some pixie dust (mickey sprinkles) for an extra whimsical touch…whoalah! Mickey Dark Chocolate and Peanut Butter Rice crispy treats!

    Mickey Dark Chocolate and Peanut Butter Rice Crispy Treats

Makes an 8×8 pan (or 3 large Mickey Treats and a few small bars)

1 stick unsalted butter.
1/2 cup Dark Chocolate Dreams spread by Peanut Butter & Co.
1/4 teaspoon salt
1- 10 ounce bag marshmallows
6 cups rice crispy cereal
2 1/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
*optional Mickey Mouse cookie cutter and sprinkles

– Coat an 8×8 pan with cooking spray or butter.
– In a large saucepan begin to melt the butter over medium heat. Continue melting, stirring occasionally until browned and nutty smelling.
– Stir in chocolate peanut butter spread and stir until incorporated.
– Stir in marshmallows until mixture is fully melted together.
– Remove from heat and stir in the rice crispys. Stir well! Everything needs to be well incorporated!
– With buttered or oiled fingers or heck a wooden spoon (it’s hot!) press mixture into pan and let cool.
– Once mixture has cooled at least a half hour, melt chocolate in a double boiler. Stir often…don’t let it burn!
– Once completely melted and smooth add vanilla and stir.
– Pour over rice treats and let set!
Adapted from Joy’s Brown Butter Peanut Butter Rice treats buy her book HERE!
Truthfully I really enjoyed these! The brown butter and peanut butter really cut down on the sweetness I thought. Turned them into adult treats. I know my sister could really use a treat right now! If you are looking for equal peanut butter chocolate taste I would go with just straight peanut butter in the bars and chocolate ontop. As the recipe is written the peanut butter is a subtle note at the end… Loved loved loved them….. PLUS they have correct crispy to chocolate ratio in my book!

20130225-012947.jpg
Dream. Bake. Believe everything will be FINE!!!
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

