Sundays with Joy / Gluten Free Man Bait Apple Crisp

Things I’m loving this week…..
1. I get to spend eight days with my goddaughter….my heart is so happy.

20120916-154914.jpg
I know she’s beautiful.
2. I traveled to Indiana/Kentucky to see her. Love being here…love the company….I have some very fond memories here through the last seven years…
3. I get to nap with babies…

20120916-154830.jpg
4. It feels like fall here.

20120916-154955.jpg
5. I made this apple crisp that is absolutely amazing.

20120916-155048.jpg
Of course the original recipe is from Joy the Baker…I could not wait to give it a try..but I had a bit of an extra challenge. Amber’s mother and grandfather are both gluten intolerant. While I was aware of it before, I most certainly got an eye opener in the kitchen. So many things have a form of gluten! Even worse, people think if something is gluten free, it’s going to taste like cardboard. Let me tell you there are pretty fantastic gluten free items out there now, as well as recipes. This apple crisp for example is AH-MAZ-ING…and best of all.. it’s gluten free.

20120916-155145.jpg
There are 12 apples in this sucker! The filling is so simplistic…..just some cinnamon and sugar….the catcher is that topping… oh good lord…. its to die for with nuts and granola and plenty of brown sugar….yup it’s pretty much heaven…

Gluten Free Man Bait Apple Crisp
(adapted from Joy the Baker’s Man Bait Apple Crisp)

4 gala apples
3 granny smith apples
3 ginger gold apples
4 teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided
6 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 2/3 cup brown sugar
2 2/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free all purpose baking flour
2/3 cup Udi’s Gluten Free Au Naturel Granola
1 1/2 pecans, chopped
2 sticks unsalted butter, slightly softened

-Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×13 pan.
– In a small dish combine 3 teaspoons of the cinnamon, and 6 tablespoons of granulated sugar.
– Peel and core apples. Place in a large bowl and toss with the cinnamon sugar mixture.
– In a second large bowl mix the brown sugar, flour, granola, and pecans until well combined. combine butter into topping mixture using pastry blender.
– Take one cup of the topping and toss with apples. Once throughly tossed, the apples can be placed into the baking dish.
– Pour remaining topping over top of the apples and bake for 55-65 minutes. The top will brown and the apples bubbling.
– Let cool 15 minutes or so before serving. Initially the filling will look alittle runny, but the liquid will reabsorb into the filling as it is cools..

20120916-155224.jpg
Does this not look amazing?!…..Sorry Uncle Tim, I have always loved your apple crisp….but this one has given you some serious competition… :)… Get Joy’s recipe from her book HERE!
Dream. Bake. Believe gluten free can still be amazing.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yvette
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 16:12:15

    That really looks amazing!

    Reply

    • notyouraveragebaker
      Sep 16, 2012 @ 17:40:16

      Thanks Yvette for everything…. so proud of this little blog and all I’ve accomplished with it in just a few months….thanks for believing in me and convincing me to do it….you’re the best!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: snapshots! « {dear friend}

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

