Sundays with Joy / Caramelized Cinnamon Chili Parsnip Fries

I know …I’m a little late with this Sundays with Joy posting. It isn’t exactly Sunday…it’s Monday night… Sometimes I am a little too gong-ho about lining up my twelve hour night shifts together ( in this case 5 twelves in 6 days…) The end result? You wake up at 4:30 pm on Sunday and your post looks like this ” Cooking along with Sundays with Joy is something I truly look forward to every week. I love the support thhhhah.kg.adkgj/kGDJJHJDKGs,ckuyrwJHRVK/kwjgUGJGjdgUGJG.KJZ.VJZ,NBVKJZGKJGDKZJGD.KJGFKJG/KSJGBNDSB,JDJBGSHUJJJJJJJJJJJJILHGFDGG.KJ.FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF./GGGGGJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJJ” HMMM. Looks like I fell asleep on the keyboard…. in 1 1/2 sentances… I believe that’s a record! The funny part is half way through it says “these fries were amazing hope you enjoy them too..” Then back to “djgskjgjsdgfkjgdsjgdgsj” Thank God I didn’t hit publish…..So anyways if it seems I have skipped a Sunday … fear not.. I promise…my recipe or review of that week’s recipe will be up as soon as I can keep my eyes open….. 😀 .. So lets start this again shall we…..
Cooking along with Sundays with Joy is truly something I look forward to every week. Not just because I love being in the kitchen….Not just because I love Joy the Baker (who I am just certain is just dying to come to Disney’s 6 week long Food and Wine Festival- wait maybe I was just dreaming that- dang it all a girl can wish)… It’s not just because I always love the end result of Joy’s recipes. True I do love it for all those reasons… But Sundays with Joy has become a family, with familiar faces I see posting throughout the week… not just on Sunday…. We share happy moments, bounce ideas back and forth, and are able to learn and find support. We have rejoiced in joyous births and grieved family members who have passed away. Our group is so much different then others I am apart of or have been apart of… In fact, I’d like to think without the comings and goings of Carrie, Ellen, Becca, Diane, and Gigi among others I’d be pretty lonely. By all means if you would like to become part of the family click HERE.

20120910-204627.jpg
This weeks recipe was originally Baked Chili Cheese Fries. Well, I’ve been on a sweet potato fry kick..so my original intention was to just sub in sweet potato (and as I am writing this I see the lovely Diane had the same idea 🙂 ). Late last week I made an unexpected trip to Whole Foods… where I came across some amazing looking pluots….and some awesome parsnip. Parsnip ….I bet I could make some mean chili fries out of parsnip… and so my little journey out to left field began….

20120910-204538.jpg
Even though I had decided to use parsnip, I totally found my self craving that sweet potato fry flavor. So I thought maybe I would throw a little cinnamon into the mix. I ended up with a sort of glaze. Simple…only three ingredients. Cinnamon.. Chili Powder… and Maple Syrup. It kicked those parsnip fries out of the ball park.. Initially they taste sweet, the parsnip mingling with the maple syrup and the cinnamon…but before you know it the chili powder is punching you a bit at the end… I liked them… alot..

20120910-204719.jpg
Caramelized Cinnamon Chili Parsnip Fries
(Inspired by Joy the Bakers Chili Cheese Fries)

1 Bag Parsnips, washed and peeled
1/2 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons cinnamon
4 teaspoons chili powder

– Preheat oven to 425. Place a sheet of parchment paper on a jellyroll pan.
– In a small bowl whisk together the maple syrup, cinnamon, and chili powder
– The hardest step in this recipe is cutting the parsnips. You want the strips to be around the same size. Turn the parsnip so it is laying horizontally and cut in half (you should have the top fat end, and the bottom skinny end. Take the skinny end and cut in half vertically so that you have two long pieces. Cut the fatter top and cut in half vertically and then cut each piece again vertically so you have 4 long strips…6 total…Now each parsnip varies in size… sometimes you may get 4 strips of the bottom half and 6-8 off the top half….
– Place all the strips on the jellyroll pan and roast 20 minutes.
– Pull the fries and pour the glaze over top….make sure to give them a good toss then replace in oven for another 15-20 minutes. Make sure you toss them at least once more before you take them out.

20120910-204739.jpg
Now coworker and I were discussing this during my shift Sunday night.. She suggested that this sounded excellent over salmon… I am very inclined to agree…stay tuned 🙂
Dream. Bake. Believe it’s ok to be out in left field sometimes…..
Love, Steffie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gigi
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 05:09:52

    Love your recipe! I agree, this is a perfect side dish to serve with salmon! Love your comments. Our group is very special. Thank you for making the one month anniversary of my mom passing away a little easier. I miss telling her about our weekly recipes, but I know she us watching from heaven drooling at all of our great dishes we are making! Much love and prayers, my sweet friend.

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

