Upside-Down Banana Nut French Toast

I’m a total Daddy’s girl… Butterfly kisses makes me bawl like a baby……Living hundreds of miles away means that when I do see him I try to spoil him. He loves meatloaf (um no), my potato salad, my grape salad, and fruit, particularly bananas.

20120909-023738.jpg
Yeah, we’re cute aren’t we? 🙂
When I lived in Milwaukee we had a tradition of going to breakfast every Saturday. Some weekends it was just Daddy and I, others my Mom, Sister, or boyfriend (now my Hubby) would come with. Still other Saturdays it would be a family a affair with Aunts, Uncles, and Cousins…. I miss it…alot…So the last Saturday I was home I decided to make him breakfast. When I found this recipe for Upside-Down Banana Pecan French Toast…. I knew it had one of my loyalist reader’s name all over it…told you I’m a Daddy’s girl 🙂

20120909-023819.jpg

Upside-Down Banana Pecan French Toast
(Adapted from this recipe on the Betty Crocker website)

1 1/2 cups packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup light corn syrup
4 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1 loaf cinnamon bread, unfrosted
6 eggs
3/4 cup milk
3/4 cup heavy cream
2 teaspoons vanilla

20120909-023857.jpg
– Spray a 9×13″ baking pan (glass is preferable)with cooking spray.
– In a large bowl mix brown sugar, butter, and corn syrup until well combined. Fold in bananas and nuts. pour into baking.
– Layer slices of cinnamon bread over the banana topping.
– In a large bowl mix eggs, heavy cream, milk, and vanilla until well combined. Pour over bread slices until they are evenly saturated. Cover with tin foil and chill overnight.
– Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Uncover and bake 45-55 minutes.
– There will be a lot of “juice” on the bottom….SO GOOD… just spoon it over you piece and you are good to go!

20120909-023927.jpg
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

