Sundays with Joy / Cheddar Crab Biscuits

Joy the Baker makes these amazing Cheddar Chive and Jalapeño Biscuits. The pictures of them in her book are to die for. Light…..airy… fluffy..pockets of cheddar..oh yeah they are the real deal for sure.

20120826-203646.jpg
I’ve never made biscuits, although they have been on my “make really soon” list for quite awhile. I’ve always heard of those horror stories of biscuits that could double as hockey pucks. Luckily I have done some reading on the subject via a cookbook solely dedicated to biscuits, that I purchased just this May in Charleston. So, armed with that knowledge, I proceeded on to read through my ingredients. I’m not a spicy girl…at all.. no really….I’m from the midwest and generally we don’t do heat. If I were baking these at home for my husband the jalapeños wouldn’t have presented a problem, but I was making these for fellow midwesterners. I didn’t know what I was going to replace it with, but I omitted the jalapeño. While at the store I was skimming all my options for cheese… (gotta love Wisconsin!), when I came across a block of Wisconsin made Cheddar Bacon…SCORE! They only had one very small package of chives left (and it was mostly on its way out- I was able salvage half), so I subbed green onions for the other half. Finally, I added crab…… no really … I did…. And they were the lightest biscuits I’ve ever eaten. Plus they had cheese ..what’s not to love!

20120826-203822.jpg
Cheddar Crab Biscuits
Adapted from Joy the Baker’s Cheddar Chive Jalapeño Biscuits

3 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon cream of tarter
4 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 egg
1/2 cup cheddar bacon cheese, chunked
1/2 to 3/4 cup rough chopped crab (drained if can packed)
1.5 tablespoons chopped chives
2 tablespoons chopped green onions
3/4 cups unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes
course sea salt

– Place one oven rack directly in the middle of your oven. Continue by placing second rack halfway between the top of the oven and the middle rack. Preheat to 425 degrees. Place two sheets of parchment paper on two cookie sheets.
– In a large bowl combine the flour,cream of tarter, salt, baking powder and sugar. In a liquid measuring cup combine egg and buttermilk, stirring to combine.
– In a small-medium bowl combine chives, green onions, crab, and cheese.
– Grab your pastry blender (highly recommended!), or use your fingers to combine the flour and the butter. It should look like various sized pebbles when you are through.
– Add cheese and crab mixture to the flour and stir once or twice to combine.
– Make an indentation in the middle of our flour mixture, pour in the buttermilk egg liquid. Use a fork to bring together just until combine.
– Dump onto a flour surface and knead 5-6 times just to incorporate everything throughout.
– Pat the dough out until its about 1.5 inches thick and divide into twelve equal pieces. Place on cookie sheets and bake 6 minutes. Continue by reversing cookie sheets in the oven (top to bottom and bottom to top) and bake an additional 7-9 minutes. Let cool.

20120826-203900.jpg
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bakeaholic Mama
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 18:37:39

    Love your adaptions!! Great post Steffie.

    Reply

  2. Tiffany
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 21:08:16

    With crab? YUM! Oh man, you just made a perfect biscuit even better!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

