Sundays with Joy / Hazelnut Dark Chocolate Cherry Popsicles

I love when one of my trips home to Milwaukee encompasses a weekend, especially a Sunday. That way my sister and fellow member of Sundays with Joy, Michelle Beres, and I are able to make our weekly recipe together. I love our time in the kitchen with each other and I’d like to think we would do it far more often if I lived closer.

20120726-235653.jpg

For now I’ll just cherish these special Sundays and be happy that we get to connect once a week when I’m back in Florida. Michelle decided she needed a puppy (little sis is growing up!) so on this visit I was able to meet my new fur nephew Nemo. Isn’t he A-DORABLE!!! He is a long haired mini doxie. He was 4.5 pounds and 13 weeks old in these pictures….

20120726-235807.jpg

20120726-235817.jpg

He’s so cute! Nemo’s brother Herbie resides with my parents where my father snuggles him to death. He is equally as cute and I’m glad my Daddy has someone to keep him company during the day. Aunt Steffie had to keep reminding herself that she has two full grown doxies of her own at home (no more puppies!) Enough with my personal trip, this particular Sunday our group made Raspberry Fudge Popsicles. Michelle and I decided to make Hazelnut Dark Chocolate Cherry Popsicles. (gotta love a trip to Woodmans at 1am 🙂 😀 )

20120726-235732.jpg
Hazelnut Dark Chocolate Cherry Pops
Adapted from Joy the Bakers’ Chocolate Raspberry Fudge Pops
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
3 tablespoon dark chocolate cocoa
Pinch salt
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 cup cream
1 teaspoon hazelnut extract
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 cup cherries, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup mini dark chocolate chips

– Grab a small bowl and whisk together the first four ingredients until they are evenly incorporated.
– Pour the milk into a medium pot and place over medium heat.
– As milk warms whisk in the sugar and cocoa mixture. Stop whisking after it comes to a boil and the milk has thickened into a pudding like mixture.
– After the mixture has come to a boil remove from heat and stir in the butter, cream, and extract. Continue stirring until butter is melted and incorporated.
– to prevent a skin from forming ontop of the mixture place a piece of plastic cling directly onto the the surface of the custard and place in fridge to cool.
– Once completely cooled through fold in the mini chips and the cherries.
– Divide between the ice pop molds and freeze until firm.

20120726-235712.jpg
Michelle and I both enjoyed these, but we agreed the hazelnut was overpowering. When we make these again we are going to cut the amount down to half a teaspoon. Otherwise yay for fudge cherry pops!
Want to make Chocolate Raspberry Fudge Pops? Buy Joy’s book HERE!
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

