Daring Bakers July Challenge (2) / Feta Cumin Crackers

A couple of days ago, I wrote this post on crackers. Unfortunately my second attempt in that post was not a success. I know, I know a set back in my kitchen is pretty darn far and in between, but it happens. The funny thing is it kind of set the mood for the rest of last week and the beginning of this one. It’s been a rough couple days. I’ve worked like a dog I’m tired physically. I heard some hard truths, had to defend my actions, and had some major (really major) disappointments. It’s just been one of those weeks ya know…where it seems like everything everywhere is coming to head. To put it lightly I was pretty down and out emotionally. The last thing I wanted to do was learn from a failure in my kitchen, a place I generally excel without major effort. However, I grabbed the newly researched recipe, and pulled ingredients on auto pilot. Funny thing about my kitchen – I originally found myself there as a cure for my homesickness after moving cross country with very little notice. Cooking just made me happy. ME. It gave me a place to be restricted of judgement and just be at peace. If I was particularly upset, I would loose myself in the directions – thankful I didn’t have to think of anything else. Gradually I found it a place to really sort out my life, or just simply enjoy it. Turns out, being there on Monday was just what the doctor ordered for this girl. Did I figure out everything I wanted to or make every decision I needed to? No. But I took some steps forward, which is all my soul needed. Besides, I have the rest of the week off and I plan to be in my happy place a lot. Plus, I made these Feta and Cumin Crackers which I adapted from Lisa over at Lisa’s Kitchen and they completely rocked. Maybe tomorrow I will make a dip to go with these….or maybe some hummus….yum

20120807-205821.jpgOriginally Lisa’s recipe was wrapped and chilled. Then it was rolled out. Instead, I formed the dough into a log, chilled it, and then sliced it as thin as I could get it. The crackers were a little thick, but we like them that way. The original recipe called for spelt flour. I decided to combine half and half amounts of all purpose and sorghum flours instead. Also, I subbed safflower oil for the olive oil. Finally before I cut them into crackers, I pressed the roll with sesame seeds.

20120807-205916.jpg
Feta Cumin Crackers
adapted from Lisa’s Feta and Cumin Crackers
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
5 tablespoons safflower oil
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 tablespoon cumin
1 cup feta cheese, crumbled
3/4 cup whole milk
Sesame seeds

20120807-205858.jpg
-In a large bowl add all ingredients except the milk. Combine by rubbing everything together with your fingers. It will closely resemble wet sand.
– Make a well in the middle and pour in the whole milk. Stir until just combined into a workable dough. Shouldn’t be falling apart, but shouldn’t be sticking to your hands either.
– Form the dough into a log on some plastic cling then wrap and chill at least an hour.
– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
– Remove dough from fridge and press sesame seeds on the sides. Slice as thin as possible and lay on a parchment paper covered cookie sheet. If you feel your crackers are getting alittle thick you may flatten them out with your fingers if you wish.
– Bake about 30 minutes, until fragrant and golden on top. Remove from oven and dry on racks.

20120807-210026.jpg
I loved these crackers they would make a great appetizer before serving an Indian fare, like tagine :). Above all they are unique, just as every person should be. Never let the world get you down for being you. Do what you feel to be right (always), love like never before, and let your inner self shine. You will never make everyone happy. So what. You may mess up. Learn from your mistakes. Take a step back and reevaluate. But never allow others to determine who YOU ARE.
Dream! Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

