Crazy Cooking Challenge / Kahlua Bailey’s Irish Cream Cheesecake

So excited to be taking part in my second Crazy Cooking Challenge. This month our challenge was cheesecake. The number of cheesecake recipes out there is staggering! However, one of the purposes of this challenge is to connect with fellow bloggers and feature a recipe from them.

20120807-153002.jpg
This month I am featuring a cheesecake from Sarah over at The Delicious Life. I am loving her site! Stop over and say hello! Now Sarah’s Bailey’s Irish Cream and Coffee Cheesecake really caught my eye. Being an avid Baileys fan ever since my study abroad in Dublin, I knew this was the cheesecake I had to make!

20120807-153157.jpg
I grabbed the Irish Cream from it’s hiding space in my liquor cabinet. (If it was in front I’d never have any because I would be constantly drinking it.) As I was shutting the cabinet door another bottle caught my eye…. the Kahlua. Yes my friends… This cheesecake includes a double whammy…. A perfect marriage of Baileys and Kalhua brought to life by lightly sweetened cream cheese goodness. Oh, and by the way while your at the liquor cabinet, grab the vodka. That way you won’t have to make another trip, and while the cheesecake is baking have yourself a Kahlua mudslide……or two…..oh heck whose counting…..

20120807-152945.jpg
Kahlua Bailey’s Irish Cream CheeseCake
adapted from Bailey’s Irish Cream and Coffee Cheesecake by The Delicious Life
1 1/2 cups Graham crackers crumbs
6 tablespoons butter, melted
1/4 cup granulated sugar
4 (8 oz.) packages cream cheese
1 cup granulated sugar
1.5 teaspoons vanilla
4 eggs
¼ cup Bailey’s Irish Cream
1/4 cup Kahlua

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
– Place a sheet of tin foil into a 10 inch springform pan. Make sure you get a nice tight crease around the bottom.
– In a small bowl stir together Graham cracker crumbs and quarter cup sugar. Add butter and stir until combined. Press into bottom of spring form and bake until golden brown anywhere from 8-10 minutes
-In a large bowl beat together cream cheese with cup of sugar. Add the eggs one at a time a beat until incorporated. Add vanilla with last egg. Divide mixture in half placing one half in a medium bowl.
– Add Kahlua to one half a mixture and stir to combine. Add Bailey’s Irish Cream to second half, stirring to combine.
– Pour half of the Kahlua cream cheese over crust. Slowly poor the Irish Cream cream cheese into the middle of the Kahlua. Repeat pouring the Kahlua into the center followed by pouring the rest of the Irish Cream. Finish by cutting through mixture with knife and swirling.
– Place cake into a baking vessel large enough to hold water until at least half way up the springform. Pour in water until half up the outer edges of the springform pan.
– Place cheesecake with water bath in oven and bake 45-55 min. The center should jiggle but not slosh around…Sarah did not bake hers in a water bath mine took an additional 20 min.
– Remove from oven. Careful that water is hot! Remove from water bath and let cool. Before removing outer layer of springform pan run a knife around the edges of the cake. Let cool completely then refrigerate until chilled.
Enjoy!

20120807-153209.jpg
P.s. As Sarah mentions on her blog. The addition of coffee ( or coffee liquor in our case) does qualify this as a breakfast food. Just saying!

20120807-153106.jpg
Check out everyone else’s cheesecakes Here!
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terry
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 20:02:12

    Love kahlua. This sounds incredible! #63

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 22:50:04

    I can’t think of a better marriage: Bailey’s and Kahlua! This would be a wonderful cheesecake…great flavors! CCC #13

    Reply

  3. Words Of Deliciousness
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 23:10:59

    Your cheesecake looks amazing. I could see myself eating this for breakfast or at any time of the day.

    Reply

  4. Tina @ MOMS CRAZY COOKING
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 15:00:09

    Looks DELISH! Thanks for participating. I will be starting up a NEW challenge next month, stay tuned!

    Reply

  5. Janelle King
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 15:18:55

    I love Baileys and Kahlua so I know this is a rocking cheesecake. ♥ CCC#8

    Reply

  6. Lisa~~
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 22:42:19

    Love the flavors and your slice looks creamy delicious.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my CCC entry: #6 Mini Cheesecake Bites.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

    Reply

  7. ButterYum
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 09:16:53

    Er uh, breakfast? That would make for an interesting day ;). Great CCC Selection, and I love that you added kahlua. If you haven’t had a chance yet, I’d love for you to visit my NYTimes Vanilla Cheesecake.

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

