Sundays with Joy / Strawberry S’mores Brownies

Today’s posting with our weekly group, Sundays with Joy, includes brownies. Of course, when your using Joy the Baker’s Cookbook they can’t be just any ole’ brownies. Our schedule read s’more brownies. Now my husband is a huge fan, not just of s’mores, but the whole s’more experience. You know, the dark nights sitting around a campfire with those close to you sharing stories, drinking, the peacefulness, the smokiness, the stars, and of course: the s’mores. I couldn’t help but think of him immeadiately when I saw these on the schedule. So, this post is dedicated to him. I don’t think I talk about my hubby near enough -here nor elsewhere. His name is Jesse. We met and started dating long distance when we were 19. That means we will have been together 7 years this year.

20120805-044435.jpg
(our very first picture together)
Jesse has always been my biggest fan from his persistence in wanting us to date right up until present day. 6 months after we started dating he moved cross country to be with me as I finished nursing school. After I graduated he proposed and the rest is history (a history that also included us moving back to Florida). We will be married 4 years this year. I am so lucky to have him. He is so supportive of me.

20120805-044308.jpgThis blog may be just a baby, but Jesse has been (and continues to be) my dishwasher and helper since long before. On a heavy cooking day he will sometimes do three loads of dishes by hand. If he is home and I am decorating a cake, no matter what time (2, 3, 4 am), he is at the sink washing my decorating tips. While I stay up late blogging, he sits right next to me reading. He will eat pretty much anything I make, and 99% of the time calls from work to sing my praises. While I know a large number of men would object to my unreasonably large number of cookbooks ( the collection started before we were married), Jesse suggested converting half our closet into bookshelves. When we are out, I am always seen carrying my camera. Jesse always pulls on the bag. These days he even makes sure it’s charged for me before a big event.

20120805-044757.jpg
He always seems to keep track of my phone, keys, shoes and whatever else I’ve managed to loose. He doesn’t mind that my feet are always freezing, even in the dead of summer. He volunteers to come with on errand runs even if they include an hour looking at fabric in Joanns. More often then not he drives me to work on the weekends and picks me up the next morning. Yea, I’m pretty darn lucky…maybe even a tad spoiled ;)…He may just be one of the most affectionate and understanding men I know. So here’s to you hunny. I know I don’t say it enough. Thank you for loving me so whole heartedly and supporting my dreams as you always have. I love you so much.

20120805-044639.jpg
Now as I mentioned before Jesse loves s’mores, but he loves one thing even more…..Strawberries…. I think one day he might just turn into one. I struggle to keep them in our fridge when they are in season. Why not combine the two? I even found strawberry marshmallows with fudge inside! Had to use ’em so I alternated them with the regular strawberry marshmallows. I also added two teaspoons on strawberry extract to the brownies.

20120805-153928.jpg
Strawberry S’mores Brownies
adapted from Joy the Baker’s S’mores Brownies

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 instant expresso powder
2 sticks unsalted butter
6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
5 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 teaspoons strawberry extract
1 cup rough crushed cinnamon and sugar graham crackers
6 strawberry marshmallows, 6 fudge filled strawberry marshmallows

20120805-154149.jpg
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a meduim bowl combine flour, baking powder, salt and expresso powder. Whisk to evenly incorporate everything.
– Bring 1 1/2 to 2 inches of water to a simmer in a medium saucepan. You want to make sure the bowl you use to melt the chocolate doesn’t touch the water. Place the butter and chocolate in a meduim bowl over the water. Stir until contents are smooth and melted. Remove from heat.
– After the chocolate has cooled a minute or two start by whisking in the the brown sugar, followed by the white sugar.
– Next add the eggs one at a time. Make sure they get evenly incorporated before moving on to the next egg.
– By now the mixture should be much cooler. Whisk in the extracts followed by the crackers.
– Pour the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture and stir only until flour is mostly disappeared. Don’t over stir! A streak here or there won’t hurt :).
– Pour into a 9×13 pan that has been sprayed with Baker’s joy or prepared with butter and flour. Arrange strawberry marshmallows on top.
– Bake for 20-30 minutes. Cool about 20-25 minutes before cutting!

20120805-154600.jpg
Yum…yum…yum… We absolutely adored these! The strawberry was really a perfect fit for us. We would suggest that if you are using strawberry marshmallows, that you cut the extract back to 1 and a half teaspoons. The fudginess cannot be beat. Jesse believed they came out amazingly awesome. I don’t know if regular s’mores will ever live up to these!
Try Joy’s version! Buy her book HERE!

Dream. Bake. Believe!
Love, Steffie….and Jesse too 🙂

20120805-051350.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Connie Stack-Heise
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 19:40:45

    hope to try this. need to find the marshmellows before friday guess have company coming!!! Grandma

    Reply

  2. Tiffany
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 12:13:06

    What a sweet post! What would we do without these men in our lives? Our dishes would pile up and our hearts would be empty.

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

