Sundays with Joy / Avocado Pound Cake with Key Lime Whipped Cream and Grilled Kiwis

Avocado pound cake? REEEAALLLY. Ok I get the avocado fries- people will try anything fried at least once ( especially in Wisconsin- where at the state fair they sell just about anything and everything fried… and on stick if at all possible 🙂 ) The avocado chocolate cake I could pass that one off even though it had avocado, because it could be hidden by the beautiful brown cocoa. But how in the world am I supposed to get people to eat a cake that is GREEN and has avocado?! I knew I really had to up the ante on this one. I wanted to serve it as a dessert after a nicer dinner so I needed to dress it up a little. I brainstormed at work ….yea not so much…. On the way home it came to me: Avocado pound cake with lime whipped cream and grilled kumquats. Ever say something and half way through the sentence realized YOU were the one saying it?…no?… well happens to me…sometimes…anyways it was like that..had no idea where it came from….but I was tired so I went with it.

20120727-000022.jpg
Expect I could not find kumquats anywhere.. two hours later I was at the last grocery store I could think of sleepily surveying what I COULD use instead. Kiwi? Sure, fine. Grabbed the kiwis and somehow found my way home. After a nap I entered my kitchen where the kiwis laid in full view on the island….really… kiwis…..who grills kiwis?…FYI kiwis are really hard to grill…good luck…but they were just what the dessert needed. The avocado cake reminded me of an amped up sweet cornbread. The lime whipped cream gave a touch of citrus paired with smooth slightly sweet and finished off with tart of kiwi. I can’t believe it worked, but it most certainly did!

20120727-000036.jpg
For the avocado cake recipe (YOU HAVE TO TRY IT) you need to buy the book HERE. The kiwis you can just throw on the grill and let caramelize alittle. For the whipped cream, I used the following recipe.

The Key Lime Whipped Cream

1 1/4 cups cold heavy cream
2 tablespoons sour cream
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon key lime zest
1 teaspoon key lime juice.

For the cream, whip all the ingredients in a mixer with whisk attachment. Careful not to over mix! You want a soft whip cream not stiff. Tracks made my the whisk should close slowly and almost disappear.

20120727-000048.jpg
Really, you need to try this! It’s awesome!
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

