TWD / Blueberry Nectarine Pie

This week for TWD our assignment was blueberry nectarine pie. Now that’s one combo I found interesting. Usually in a berry pie you see a combo of berries. I would have thought about combining blueberries with strawberries, raspberries, even rhubarb. I guess peach melba contains raspberries and peaches, but truly I have never heard of nectarines and blueberries. Don’t get me wrong I was excited about it though. I am a fruit lover, a trait I no doubt received from my grandfather, who was encouraging us to consume it every 15 minutes growing up. However, I never really cared for blueberries. Until recently I even fished them out of my parfaits. Then not to long ago Jesse’s cousin Rachael baked this blueberry crumble and I could not believe how much I loved it. I was anxious to see if maybe blueberries where an acquired taste for me. I was also excited to pair them with the nectarines, a fruit I’d love eat all day everyday.

20120803-005415.jpg
The filling is a cooked fruit filling. Basically half of each fruit is boiled with sugar, lemon juice and lemon zest. After it cooks to a boil and thickens, it gets removed and the rest of the fruit gets added in. I had some tangelo zest from the pancakes left over so a threw that in as well. Also, the recipe calls for flour to help as a thickener. I went ahead and cut it in half and subbed in half cornstarch. I think the filling was still a bit runny for my taste.

20120803-005315.jpg
A lot of people had some issues with the shortening in the crust. The only change I would make with the crust is that I would par bake the bottom a little. The last pie I made was the pizza rustica. What can I say I like to eat pie the most as a dessert but I like to bake cakes more.

20120803-005222.jpg
I loved this pie. I love blueberries (as long as they are baked!). I still do not care for them unbaked. Baby steps. However next time I would up the nectarine content just a touch. I found the nectarine flavor came through a touch more when the pie is warm. Also, I think I would add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the filling and serve the it warm with a scoop of vanilla or cinamon ice cream.. perfection :).Head on over to That skinny chick can bake for the recipe!

20120803-005040.jpg

Dream Bake Believe.
Love, Steffie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ckay
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 02:48:42

    Look what a marvellous pie you made! The lattice top and edges are great!
    I did not have enough blueberry and had to use what I found at hand: 2 cups frozen berries and 5 middle nectarine: divine!
    The reason why I don’t bake pie crust so often: tooo much fat!
    I’ve tried to reduce the fat in this one, skipping the shortening and making a mixture or butter/yoghurt and a little of baking powder: the flakyness was gone but it was still good.

    Reply

  2. Paula @ Vintage Kitchen
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 16:51:21

    You made a great lattice pie! Glad you enjoyed it in spite of your blueberry aprehension. Nice pics

    Reply

  3. Cathleen
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 22:55:14

    My filling was extremely runny! G o r g e o u s photos!!!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

