Sundays with Joy / Coconut Blueberry Citrus Pancakes with Citrus Maple Glaze

Somedays you just gotta have pancakes…. I love them, though I still order the chocolate chip ones 99% on the time. Yea, I’m still a kid at heart. Blueberry Citrus Pancakes seemed a little sophisticated for me. Also I work night shift (and have no kids), so I’m never home for breakfast and if I am I’m sleeping. However, if I were sleeping and somebody made these, I’d sleep walk myself to the kitchen for some, that’s for sure. Joy says they are best served to mothers. My mother lives 1500 miles away ( guess that leaves it up to you Michelle). My mother-in-law loves blueberries, I’ll have to remember these for a special occasion. I did make these for a mother, just not my own. She and the kids loved them and she even let me use her fine china (which she claims hasn’t been used in years). Isn’t it pretty? Yay for extraordinary breakfast on an ordinary morning. ๐Ÿ™‚

20120730-145113.jpg
I did make a few changes to the original recipe. I added coconut extract. I subbed tangerine juice in for the orange juice and tangelo zest for the orange zest. I thought about subbing in blackberries for the blueberries. I may still do that in the future and when I do I want to sub hazelnut extract in for the almond. The last change I made was adding some some sorghum syrup to the glaze.

20120730-144956.jpg

Coconut Blueberry Citrus Pancakes
Adapted by Joy the Baker’s Blueberry Orange Almond Pancakes

For the Pancakes:
1 cup all purpose flour
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoons salt
1 large egg
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup fresh tangerine juice
2 teaspoons tangelo zest
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/4 teaspoon coconut extract
3/4 cup blueberries, fresh
3-4 tablespoons unsalted butter, for griddle

For the Glaze:
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons tangerine juice
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1 teaspoons sorghum syrup

For pancakes:
-Whisk together first five ingredients in a medium bowl.
-In separate smaller bowl whisk together the next six ingredients making sure mixture is evenly combined.
-Continue by whisking the wet mixture into the dry mixture. Careful don’t over mix! Whisk only until just combined.
-Fold in the blueberries (or blackberries or a combo…yum)
-Let your pancake batter rest for about 5 minutes.
– If you own a griddle be sure to use that. Joy likes to use a cast iron skillet. (I wish I had a gas stove so I could use one!) Heat on medium high and melt 1-2 tablespoon of unsalted butter.
– Drop about 2 tablespoons of batter per pancake. Flip in around 2 minutes or when bottom is set and tops are bubbling.

For the glaze:
Easy peasy just whisk all ingredients together until uniformly combined. If you really liked cocnut add some toasted coconut to the glaze….yum!

Serve pancakes still warm with glaze drizzled over the top. ๐Ÿ™‚

20120730-144907.jpg
You should try Joy’s version as well buy her book HERE!

Dream Bake Believe
Love, Steffie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. connie stack heise
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 16:25:56

    gpomg tp make these steff. grandma

    Reply

  2. Carrie @ Bakeaholic Mama
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 20:14:28

    Steffie these look great!!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

