Sundays with Joy / Amaretto Expresso Granita with Clementine Sweet Cream

Granita…. not something ever at the top of my “make ASAP” list….Being a part of SWJ and various other groups forces you to think outside your personal comfort zone. I love that. After reading through the recipe I consulted my personal cookbook library for some further research…. I was intrigued….an adult sno-cone…. bring it!

Of course I found a multitude of examples during my further reading. I even earmarked a few…( sangria…I think so!… cucumber?….not so sure about that one…) I settled in with my hot chocolate and my book one evening on break at work and really thought about the changes I wanted to make with this recipe. I really wanted to keep the expresso (Since my pots upon pots of coffee during nursing school…I really have to be in the mood for a cup now). I didn’t want to add chocolate although I did toy with adding some cocoa to the whipped cream. I also considered grinding some nuts for a coffee with biscotti effect…but I hadn’t seen that done. I sighed and put my book away at the end of my break. The next morning after my shift my friend asked her mother what flavor creamer she wanted in her coffee…ahh ha!…. inspiration. I decided to add some amaretto to my expresso granita…. yum :). Also, I like my coffee sweet. Always have – since my papa used to let me drink “coffee” with him just about every morning growing up (aka a cup of milk with sugar and a couple drops of coffee… love you Papa), so I upped the 1.5 tablespoons of sugar to 2.5. especially cause I opted to put in the extra 3 tablespoons of instant expresso.

20120723-224715.jpg
On to the lightly sweetened citrus cream…for some reason I’ve been on a nectarine kick lately….unfortunately there is no rind on a nectarine that you can grate, so I decided on clementines. Love clementines. It took about 6 clementines to grate enough zest for a heaping teaspoon. Just as I finished zesting (and then peeling), the hubby walked through the door grabbed some and thanked me for peeling his afternoon snack….it was very sweet of me…. Ha! shhhhh! It’s our secret ok?…. I also added a teaspoon of orange extract.

20120723-224802.jpg
Now I’d like to say no kitchen products were harmed in the making of this granita…..But I regret to inform you of the passing of my french press…. It apparently was upset I had awoken it from it’s several month nap and rewarded me with a beautiful crack that spiraled it’s way from bottom to top and proceeded to grace my counter with most of the two and a half cups of expresso….rip frenchie :).

    Amaretto Expresso Granita Sweet Clementine Cream


Inspired by Joy the Baker’s Expresso Granita with Sweet Lemon Cream. Buy her book HERE!

For the Granita:

2 1/2 cups water
1/3 cup fresh ground expresso
2 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar ( I used extra fine because thats what I keep around)
3 tablespoons instant expresso powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup Amaretto

– If you have a french press, boil the water and pour it over the expresso grounds in your press.
– If you do not own a french press – and you have an affinity for coffee – you should give one a try. They are really great. Anyways, just brew 2.5 cups of really strong coffee with the expresso grounds.
– Mix the the sugar, expresso powder, and vanilla into the hot liquid.
– Pour mixture into freezer friendly dish and place in freezer.
– In one hour, stir mixture with fork and replace in freezer.
– Repeat stirring mixture with fork one hour later.
– Let mixture rest another 30 minutes. Remove mixture from freezer. Stir with fork breaking up any large ice crystal clumps. Add amerretto. stir to combine and replace in freezer.
– Let rest 30 minutes and stir mixture. Now this may seem a little involved..all this resting and stirring but I assure you it’s worth it in the end when you have delicate icy flakiness. If you opt out of the waiting and stirring…well, you might end up enjoying a massive expresso popsicle instead of an adult sno-cone… 🙂
– Now you can let your mixture rest and freeze until it has been in the freezer 3-4 hours total. It will easily flake with the tines of a fork.

For Cream

3 tablespoons sugar (again I used extra fine)
1 teaspoon clementine zest
1 teaspoon orange extract
2 cups heavy cream, well chilled

– Now here is where we break from routine.. we are going to get our fingers dirty (alternately you can do this with a spoon and a cutting board). We are going to to combine the zest and the sugar. rub the sugar and zest together until it is throughly combined (it will look like damp sand). As an added bonus your kitchen (and you!) will smell amazing!
– In a medium bowl whip cream for 1 minute. Add you scented sugar and whip until soft peaks form. Unless you want to layer like I did, then I would suggest beating until stiffer peaks form.

20120723-224550.jpg
Hubby and I really enjoyed this! As I was layering the glass, I thought dang would these be cute in those push pop holders. An expresso granita and cream push pop… how amazing would that be at your next BBQ bash?! Need to look into that! Can’t wait to dabble little more in the world of granita either!

Dream. Bake. Believe!
Love, Steffie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tiffany
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 23:05:18

    I had never heard of granitas, either! I thought I was the only… happy to be learning along side you 🙂 Looks and sounds GREAT!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

