Sundays with Joy / Zucchini and Potato Pancakes

Potato pancakes really bring me back.

20120714-225827.jpg
My Papa Beres made then every once and awhile as I was growing up…He used to really enjoy eating them with apple sauce. Being born and raised in Milwaukee we had Fish Fry’s every friday (usually beer battered cod). Although traditionally served with coleslaw, rye bread, and fries, you could almost always request potato pancakes. They always brought them with a side of apple sauce. (Milwaukee has a lot of German background) This last February at a German restaurant I convinced my late brother-in-law to try the apple sauce with them instead of *cringe* ketchup. (miss ya Kyle). However it wasn’t until early this year that I became aware of another potato pancake, one made with zucchini. My friends family is of polish decent and Nannie offered to make them with me. ( I love times like that… it’s the stuff memories are made of 🙂 ). Sure enough, her recipe is very similar to Joy’s recipe. When we were finished she served hers with sour cream and ketchup. However my friend will only let mustard grace her latkes. I was pretty excited to make this recipe from Joy. As you can tell – brings back some great memories.

20120714-230029.jpg
The only thing I changed was that I subbed 1/2 cup grated yellow summer squash for a 1/2 cup of the zucchini. Now I know this is shocking I did not serve them with applesauce *gasp*. I mixed some paprika and cumin into some sour cream. It was good – really- just not AS good as apple sauce. What can I say – I’m a little biased. 🙂

20120714-230145.jpg
If you would like to make Joy’s potato pancakes you can buy her book here! or at any major bookseller.
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becca from It's Yummilicious
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 18:48:42

    Steffie, your pancakes look AWESOME! I really had a nice trip down memory lane with this recipe myself. I was born and raised in Waukesha… from a German daddy none-the-less. Friday fish fry at the American Legion absolutely ALWAYS included loads of potato pancakes, applesauce… and beer (well, for Daddy anyway) ❤

    Reply

  2. Ellen @ Indigo Scones
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 17:01:01

    Scrumptious! Good move with the squash.

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

