Daring Cooks July / En Papillote

Holy cow every month I get a new cooking challenge that I become so excited about! Every month seems to slip away and before I know it, it’s time to reveal…crazy how fast time flies sometimes…..anyways here we go…

Our July 2012 Daring Cooks’ host was Sarah from All Our Fingers in the Pie! Sarah challenges us to learn a new cooking technique called “Cooking En Papillote” which is French and translates to “cooking in parchment”. Actually I never really had given this much thought, even though I’d come across it once for twice…You know how it is though, you learn about a topic and suddenly it pops up everywhere….cooking En papillote was actually also featured in the June issue of Bon Appetite as well…

20120714-212801.jpg

Initially I wanted to try and adapt my father-in-law’s lemon peppered salmon recipe. Upon discussing this with him we decided it just couldn’t be adapted to this style…sad day…however we did have a great conversation regarding his days as fisherman in Montauk, New York. He said all they had was a grill, so everyday they would take some of what they caught and combine it with some fresh veggies from the stand down the street wrap it up some foil and let it steam. He ” didn’t have a clue about French cooking, but that’s what they used to do it in the good ole days”. I couldn’t believe all the flavor combos he rattled off….in the spring he did this…. In the summer he did this, in the fall he did this…..it was great getting to have that experience with him. His eyes lit up and he became so animated talking about those times…. Funny how food can produce such memories and emotions… It’s what I love best about cooking…..
Anyways, while I immensely enjoyed and appreciated his input, it seemed all I could find were recipes with fish. (Believe me he left me with so much info we will be steaming fish for a long time 🙂 ). However I wanted to try and step outside the box and be daring for my challenge… So my first recipe is…..

20120714-212935.jpg

Italian Chicken with Peppers


8 chicken tenderloins
1 red pepper, julienned
1 green pepper, julienned
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 tbl sesame oil
4 tbl garlic infused olive oil
1 tbl Italian seasoning
1/2 tea dried tarragon
1/4 – 1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes, rough chop
salt
pepper
Orzo pasta, cooked
Feta cheese
Parchment paper

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees
-Cut four sheets of 14×14 of parchment paper. Round off edges to form heart shape.
– In a small bowl combine oils, spices, and garlic.
– Centering on one half of the heart, evenly divide the chicken, sun dried tomatoes, and peppers
among the four parchment papers
– Finish by evenly drizzling the oil and spice mixture over tops.
– Salt and pepper liberally.
– Starting at one end, crimp and fold parchment paper together to form a packet, making sure your folds are small and tight so that steam will not escape.

20120714-213116.jpg
– Place on baking sheet and bake for 25 min.
– Be careful not to burn yourself when you open the packets!
– Serve over orzo pasta and top with Feta cheese.

20120714-213213.jpg

I also was inspired to do a fruit packet by Bon Appetite, who featured a strawberry rhubarb packet. We are finally seeing some great peach produce here in Orlando so I decided to take my chances. I also decided to go with foil instead of parchment paper because I wanted to throw them on my grill.

20120714-213531.jpg

    Cinnamon Honey Brandy Peaches


4 peaches, halved and pitted
4 tbl honey (I used a honey I bought in Puerto Rico)
4 tea brandy
1/4 tea mace
1 tea cinnamon (I used Penzeys fancy cinnamon)

– Heat grill to medium high heat.
– Cut 4 12×12 tin foil squares
– In a small bowl whisk together honey, brandy, and spices until combined.
– Place 2 peach halves and 1/4 honey mixture into each foil packet and close tightly.
– Place on grill with lid down for 15-20 minutes depending on the size and ripeness of your peaches.

20120714-213631.jpg

20120714-213726.jpg
TADA! yum yum yum….there are no words to describe the heavenliness of these peaches. I originally just paired them with a bowl of Coconut Ice Cream (Yesterday’s post). Suddenly I thought I needed to take this to the next level…..

20120714-213832.jpg

    Coconut Brandy Peach Milkshake


2 scoops coconut ice cream
2 tbl brandy
1 Peach half and half the cooking liquid from above recipe

Combine ingredients in blender until incorporated. Top with some toasted coconut and a pinch of cinnamon….

20120714-213912.jpg
yup ya gotta try this!!!!!

Dream. Bake. Believe!
Love, Steffie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. connie stack heise
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 22:17:24

    Dear Steffie just looking at the peaches make me hungry my favorite fruit. We had so many when your Mom was little in our back yard. Grandma and Bill

    Reply

  2. andy
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 10:48:19

    your photos are wonderful! I really want to try the peaches.

    Reply

  3. icaseyd
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 20:04:42

    Your food looks amazing. The story is priceless 🙂

    Reply

  4. vanessalillian
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 20:27:20

    Oh, WOW! Those peaches look amazing! The chicken looks good, too, and I loved your FIL’s stories 🙂

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

