Sundays with Joy / Coconut Ice Cream

Yea, I know it’s been awhile…I traveled up north for a wedding and to meet my brand new fur nephew. Upon returning home, I had an unfortunate accident and had to sit on the culinary sidelines for awhile. Enough about me, I am busting at the seams with all sorts of posts to share. I need to get caught up!

I’m so excited to start off with this ice cream from Joy the Baker….not just any ice cream…COCONUT ice cream! Woohoo! I am a major coconut fan! Does this not look heavenly?!

20120714-021658.jpg

It’s absolutely dreamy… I have made my fair share of ice creams, but it never occurred to me that I could make one using only coconut milk! I had some reservations so I followed the recipe exactly. While my base cooled I toasted my unsweetened coconut and my house smelled like a tropical paradise ( to bad it didn’t look like one! ;))
I poured my base into my kitchen aid ice cream attachment and let that baby churn while I daydreamed of tropical destinations – that coconut scent really got to my head! The last few minutes I sprinkled most of my toasted coconut in and transferred the creamy mixture into a container so it continue it’s journey in the freezer. It felt like forever waiting… It was calling my name…

20120714-021953.jpg
It’s my new favorite I love it so much! I had my bowl with a sprinkling of toasted coconut, a drizzle of almond cream liqueur, and (of course) a cherry…coconut heaven in a bowl…velvety smooth and not too sweet..love love love

20120714-022107.jpg
Now the original recipe includes a homemade magic chocolate shell….how cool is that? I however, had alternate plans … Such as this…..

20120714-022159.jpg

Stay tuned the recipe for that awesome peach accompaniment and much more coming soon….. What’s that oh the coconut ice cream?… Buy Joy’s book Here! or wherever books are sold….:)

DREAM! Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

