Sundays with Joy / Kale Peanut Butter Smoothie

I’ve seen green smoothies pictured everywhere for awhile now……blogs….magazines…..cookbooks….Truth be told, I could never seem to wrap my head around the fact that I supposed to DRINKING pureed spinach or what not. Veggies and fruit…together….IIIIIIIIIII don’t know. About 8 weeks ago Jesse’s Aunts ( who are pretty awesome in the culinary realm) raved over them one morning. It still did nothing for me…sad day.

20120617-124150.jpg
But this smoothie pleasantly surprised me. I made some additions to Joy’s original recipe. I increased the honey, and upped the fruit content ( silently willing them to PUHLEASE mask any green leafy flavor)……it was good .. not life altering.. but I actually drank it all…..wait maybe that is life altering ;).

20120617-124309.jpg

Summery Green Smoothie
-adapted from Joy the Baker’s Peanut Butter Kale Smoothie

Juice from 4 Key Limes
5 ripe strawberries
3 teaspoons Puerto Rican honey
1 Banana- frozen -cut into chunks
1 tablespoons creamy Peanut Butter
1 1/2 cups Coconut Milk
1 heaping cup of chopped Kale
1 heaping cup of Spinach leaves

1. Prepare spinach and kale. Kale can be very sandy so make sure it is cleaned well. Also it’s leaves should be stripped from the center stalk. Ensure that you’ve dried the greens well otherwise you will end up with a watery smoothie.
2. Blend the greens with the milk until a mixture the color of Kermit appears. It should be well combined and smooth.
3. Add honey, peanut butter, and fruits. Puree until smooth and creamy. ENJOY!

20120617-124406.jpg

Dream Bake Believe!
Love, Steffie