Crazy Cooking Challenge / Coconut Breakfast Blend Smoothie

I love challenges ….We all know this…..If there is a baking group – I’m there. I love the schedules, the researching, and the chance to broaden my horizon and try new and exciting things. Most of all I love that being a part of these groups enables me to meet so many other wonderful bloggers, bakers, and culinary hobbyists. This challenge is an easy once a month. We are given a food subject and released out into blogging world to find a fellow peer’s recipe to showcase. With all the blog perusing I do on a daily basis once in a while, I was happy to oblige. Lets be honest I was going to try these recipes at some point anyway. On the 7th of every month we all submit our recipes HERE! and the rest of the world gets to vote on which one is BEST :).

20120607-011902.jpg
This month’s topic was : The Ultimate Smoothie. Man I tossed around quite a few ingredients. I searched for peach smoothies, apricot smoothies, etc. During my search I ran into Ali’s Blog – Gimme Some Oven. It’s really an awesome blog. She’s got a section on photography, a how-to section, and her recipes rock. I found she did a whole smoothie week. All in different colors – pretty sweet. Her white smoothie was a breakfast blend that really caught my eye. Apples, Bananas, Peanut Butter, Ice…..yea sounded pretty good……plus coconut milk……oh yea…. I’m in….. so without further ado……

20120607-011745.jpg

Ali’s White Cocont Breakfast Blend Smoothie
2 apples, cored
2 Bananas, peeled and frozen
1 tbl peanut butter – I eyeballed it
1/2 cup coconut milk (score)
1/2 cup ice
*1/8 cup sweetened coconut – optional since I added this

As with most smoothies – throw everything into the blender and combined until mixture has an even blend. 😀
I had printed the recipe out and folded it over- now that I’m blogging this I see on the other side of my fold that she suggests to take it up a notch by grilling or roasting the fruit first ….. DANG I totally would have grilled mine! Guess I will have to make them again!

20120607-011435.jpg
Anyways the hubs and I loved it and will be making it quite regularly! If you like it please go give Ali some love here! and check our her cool site! And don’t forget to go vote for US ( Ali and I) HERE PLEASE. ( You can vote by just clicking on number 61 ) Go 61! If you would like more details about the challenge itself or past topics you can view them here.
Dream Bake Believe
Love Steffie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. prairiesummers
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 18:38:00

    You cannot go wrong with peanut butter haha

    Reply

  2. Cynthia L.
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 21:39:08

    This looks really good! I would be interested to hear how the grilling goes. By the way, I love your glass.

    Reply

  3. Lisa~~
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 23:35:32

    Looks delicious and I can’t wait to try a smoothie with coconut.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my CCC entry: Mango Melon Banana & Chia Smoothie.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

