Sundays with Joy / Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

Late again! But better then never. Last week Sunday I mentioned Michelle and I were attending our family reunion in Daytona Beach for the week. We had a great time although Tropical Storm Beryl certainly wasn’t nice to us.

20120605-000844.jpg

20120605-000859.jpg

20120605-001919.jpg
Our “kitchenette” was interesting to bake in last weekend so I gave in and had my hubby throw my stand mixer and ice cream attachment in the car. Yea… we went hard core :). I have made ice cream several times before- all custard based. So I was feeling pretty confident and ready to help Michelle try it out for the first time……..It was going pretty smoothly…in fact, flawlessly…..until we warmed the egg mixture….It started looking pretty darn strange… certainly not like something I had ever seen when making custard…finally I took it off the stove and we ended up with what very closely resembled curds and whey..After a little research we learned we had heated the mixture to quickly….I had the “kitchenette” burner on 1… I couldn’t even have decreased it if I wanted too….so we were on to scene 1 take 2. ( Lets just say we had ALOT of egg whites to use up for breakfast during the week πŸ™‚ ) I warmed up the custard mixture on one of the back burners this time, eventually turning it 4 to get the temperature right….jeesh!..Exhausted we were glad to leave our custard baby in the fridge overnight and we crashed. In the morning we churned the beautiful creaminess and added the strawberries..and folded in the cookie dough.

20120605-001148.jpg

Voila!

20120605-001249.jpg
Strawberry cookie dough ice cream…….

20120605-001500.jpg
Well…..minus some cookie dough chunks……cause well they were irresistible…and minus some strawberries because my husband is a strawberry fiend.

20120605-001529.jpg

It was a hit! (As if anyone doubted it would be) and it was a good thing too because even with an extra long freeze boy did it melt fast in that florida heat and humidity! If we were to change anything we would maybe add a great amount of strawberries ..or maybe some strawberry extract. Also, we used dark chocolate morsels…..next time we would definitely go with mini dark chocolate chips :).

20120605-001616.jpg
After all was said and done. We had a great week and we have a great family……see you all next year!

20120605-001812.jpg

20120605-001832.jpg
Do YOU want to make strawberry cookie dough ice cream? Buy Joy’s book-Joy the Baker HERE…..or wherever books are sold.

Dream Bake Believe
Love Steffie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NerdyBaker
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 11:27:47

    I did mini chocolate chips. I forgot to mention it though, whatever. You are brave, not only for making this in a kitchenette but making it in a tropical storm! Great post πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Indigo Scones (Ellen)
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 11:36:57

    Wow! That’s definitely hard core. Your ice cream looks amazing, and I hope you got to enjoy some non-rainy Florida!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

