Sundays with Joy / Avocado Fries!

The people who know me best, love me in despite of my french fry habit. They used to think I was strange, then they laughed, now they just shrug and hand them over. This is because I am very selective of my fries, sure I’ll much on any kind…..but I’m a goner for those soft mushy ones…you know the ones that fold over onto themselves?… Yes … I’m coming out with it… I am squishy fry connoisseur…….whew! I’m glad thats out in the open now.
20120520-234959.jpg
Today on Sundays with Joy we made avocado fries….. really?… I have to admit was skeptical. I had never eaten an avocado in my life until I moved down to florida. One night my then fiancé (now hubby) and I were eating at his parent’s house. I took a bit of my salad and I wasn’t quite sure what hit me. There was something in my mouth with a texture and flavor I’d never experienced. Reluctantly I swallowed and asked my mother in law what in the world was in the salad…..avocado…..yup…I think she got a kick out of my reaction. They really grew on me though, so I have to credit her for my love of them at present. I wasn’t a very adventurous eater back then so I don’t think I would have tried them on my own. Still, I was hesitant about frying the little suckers. Had I seen it as an app on menu I don’t know that I would have ordered them. Thank You Joy the Baker. Heaven on plate that’s what they are. Love Love Love them. What I love most about them is that I don’t have to sacrifice my squishy fry texture and I still get the crunch! Crunchy fry lovers will like them. Regular ole any kind of fry lovers will like them. Squishy Fry lovers will like them….. Do you see where I’m heading here?….Oh come on don’t pretend like you don’t know someone with a major french fry preference… and now finally a fry everyone can love!
20120520-235404.jpg
It’s really super easy to do…. Joy has you combine flour salt and cayenne in a bowl ( just a pinch!) and I added two pinches of hungarian paprika for good measure 🙂 Then you basically set up a breading station and continue like you do when you fry anything. She uses panko as the final coat. I used seasoned panko. Fry them off in some veggie oil and voila! Avocado fries!. I squeezed a little lemon juice add some course sea salt over the top and you officially have heaven on a plate…..

20120520-235544.jpg
Or so you think……enter Steffie’s Dipping Sauce (original I know). It takes avocado fries to a new level of wonderfulness…..

20120520-235724.jpg

What? Oh, but I can’t tell you…….it’s a secret!

20120520-235118.jpg
No I’m just kiddin’! Of course I’ll share……

20120520-235239.jpg

Steffie’s Dipping Sauce
pssst… this makes a lot more then you need.. but have no fear! You will be finding things to put it on :).

1\2 cup Hellmann Mayo
1\4 cup dijon mustard
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon cider vinegar
2 tablespoon honey
2 tablespoon tamari sauce (you can find it by the soy sauce)

Stir to combine.

And there you have it…. Crunchy with a creamy smooth center and sweat sour sauce nom nom nom.

20120521-000127.jpg
You want to make avocado fries?! You know you do! Get Joys book here! or wherever books are sold.
Dream. Bake. Believe in squishy fries.
Love, Steffie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellen of Indigo Scones
    May 21, 2012 @ 12:51:06

    Love the squishy fries reference 🙂

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

