May Daring Cooks Challenge / Mushroom Bourguignon

Our May 2012 Daring Cooks’ hostess was Fabi of fabsfood. Fabi challenged us to make Boeuf Bourguignon, a classic French stew originating from the Burgundy region of France.

I was excited when I learned this months challenge was bourguignon. Most may have heard of this as one of Julia Child’s most famous dishes made even more popular by the movie Julie and Julia. It has been said that making Beef Bourguignon takes a piece of your soul with it. I can attest to this. In December my friend Angela commented she wanted to make the dish for her birthday. Always ready for a challenge, I readily and happily volunteered to help her out. The recipe had something like 100 steps, and I even planned to make homemade egg noodles to boot. We started at 10 am and ate at 7 pm…It took us all day granted we made a double batch… somewhere in the middle of everything I told her to take a break and recruited her mom to help me out. It sure was worth it as it is still one of the best recipes I have ever helped to make. Excuse the horrible cell phone pic but it is my only proof!!

20120514-011750.jpg
If you have never tried beef bourguignon I strongly recommend it. That being said, I wasn’t quite ready for a repeat just yet. I did some research on vegetarian options toying with tofu or seitan. However, I knew I was going to do make this during my family vacation up north. There is no way my family would eat that. Then I found a few recipes for Mushroom Bourguignon. I love mushrooms. I would rather have a grilled portobella then a burger most of the time. Since there is no making your own bacon or searing then stewing beef it takes a fraction of the time….I figured I had nothing to loose…and I gained so much. It is so amazing!… I mean amazing, and it got rave reviews! I know what your saying. Vegetarian isn’t for you…you like meat. So do I..really..although I prefer chicken over any other kind of meat. I try to do more in the vegetarian realm because I know it’s much healthier, but I do so with reservations. I promise promise promise you will not miss the meat in this. 🙂

20120514-010314.jpg
Mushroom Bourguignon

2 TBL or more oil
2 TBL or more butter
2 pounds ( I used baby portobellas because they looked so beautiful, but you could use a mix of any kind) rough chopped or rough sliced
2 carrots peeled and rough chopped
1 small onion rough chopped
2 stalks celery rough chopped
2 cloves garlic rough chopped
1.5 cups red wine ( I used a malbec)
1.5 cups beef broth (you could use veggie or chicken)
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 TEA fresh thyme leaves
1 sprig fresh rosemary
2 bay leaves
1-1.5 cups whole peeled pearl onions
egg noodles for serving
sour cream optional (recommended)

1.Heat the one tablespoon of the olive oil and one tablespoon of butter over med. heat in a dutch oven or a heavy bottomed pot. Make sure it has a lid! If it looks like it might be a tight squeeze, you may need to do this in batches. Giving the mushrooms enough room to sear on all sides is essential. Sear mushrooms until start to darken. This may take 3 to 4 minutes per batch and don’t be afraid to add a little more oil and butter if needed. Then remove all mushrooms to a separate dish and set aside.
2. Add the second tablespoon of olive oil. Add carrots, onions, and celery. Season with salt and pepper as desired. Cook until onion is slightly browned and carrots/celery are softened stirring occasionally. This took about 10 minutes. Make a well in the middle and add thyme and garlic and cook an additional 1 minute. Mix seasonings with veggies.
3.Add one cup wine to the veggies, and then turn up the heat to med high until the liquid reduces by half. Continue by adding beef broth and additional half cup of wine. Stir to combine. Then add mushrooms (along with any juices that have gathered in the bowl), the sprig of rosemary, the bay leaves, and the pearl onions. Bring everything to a boil. Once a rolling boil has been reached put the lid on and turn the temp down to low or medium low until the contents just simmer. Alternately you could throw the dutch oven into a slow oven like a traditional beef bourguinon, but since there is no need to leave it stewing for hours, I believe the stove stop is the best bet here. No judgement if you choose the oven route though! Simmer for 20 minutes or until mushrooms are very tender. Feel free to add a little extra broth if needed. (I added an additional cup)
4. Combine 1 tbl butter and the flour with a fork until combined and stir the paste in. This will help to thicken. Simmer for 10 more minutes. If the sauce is too thin, you may increase the temp and boil it down to reduce the sauce to the right consistency. Season to taste. Remove bay leaf and rosemary sprig. Serve over egg noodles and garnish with a dollop of sour cream (that creamy is heaven along with the mushroom stew and the sweetness of onions is divine!).

I plan on making this pretty regularly now. My husband who wouldn’t touch a mushroom when we married ate a whole plate and was pretty happy ( even when I was truthful that is was made primarily of them). I cant wait to make this for my mother in law! It tastes amazing right out of the pot and reheats like a dream. I may play around in the future by adding some lentils or maybe serving it with some gnocchi. Come on make it! I promise if you don’t care for it you wont have a problem finding someone who will swoon over it! 🙂

20120514-010114.jpg
Dream Bake Believe 🙂
Love, Steffie.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pizzarossa
    May 14, 2012 @ 01:45:34

    I love the mushrooms in this version. Bookmarked 🙂

    Reply

  2. vanessalillian/Ness
    May 14, 2012 @ 05:43:05

    Looks great with the mushrooms and noodles!

    Reply

  3. Urmila @ The Garlic Press
    May 14, 2012 @ 11:55:16

    Mmmm, mushroom bourguignon…will definitely have to try it!

    Reply

  4. Shelley C
    May 14, 2012 @ 13:02:27

    What a great idea to make mushroom bourguignon! It looks and sounds super tasty.

    Reply

  5. Suz
    May 14, 2012 @ 17:30:59

    That does sound (and look) really, really good! Mushrooms have a special ‘meatiness’ of their own, don’t they? Yum! Your dish looks beautiful with the cream and sprig of rosemary. 🙂

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

