Happy Mother’s day/ Grandma’s Pancakes

I promised there would be a separate Mother’s Day post and here it is……This Mother’s Day was really special for us. Jesse and I took Mom Kiefer out before coming up to Wisconsin for Michelle’s graduation. So, Jesse and Michelle and I decided to conduct an undercover operation (since Jesse and I were laying low this trip anyway… this worked!).
20120513-152544.jpg

We decided to surprise our Grandma Stack up north for an early Mother’s Day. We totally pulled it off!. I don’t know who was more excited Michelle, me, or Grandma when she figured out we were actually there! We had so much fun at dinner that evening! ( It could have something to do with that 77 proof strawberry liquior… POKEY!) The next morning we made a stop to the cheese factory and then headed to Grandma’s house for a late brunch. She made PANCAKES! It has been ages since I’ve gotten to have them. I am addicted to Grandma’s Pancakes. She even adds mini chocolate chips for Michelle and I. Mom, Pokey, Grandpa Bill, Grandma, Michelle, Jesse, and I all sat around eating them and sharing stories about growing up.
br />
20120513-152721.jpg

20120513-152736.jpg

20120513-152747.jpg

20120513-152909.jpg
When Grandma would come over before school she would make us pancakes for breakfast! I could eat them in peace while she hand fed them to “Baby Crab” in bed.

Now usually this is a top secret recipe, but I don’t think she mind me sharing it….

20120513-153041.jpg

20120513-153055.jpg

Grandma Stack’s Pancakes

2 eggs (seperated)
2 cups milk
2 cups flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
3 tbl melted butter
pinch salt
mini chocolate chips -optional- but recommended!

Beat egg whites in a small bowl until stiff then set aside.
In a bowl lightly beat the egg yolks and then mix in milk, flour, baking soda, salt, sugar, and cooled melted butter. Fold in egg whites.
Heat a little oil in pan for frying ( ” This pan wants to be stainless steel not teflon and when the bubbles appear that’s when they want to be flipped to the other side”-Grandma Stack)

It’s days like that sitting around the table joking, laughing, and sharing stories that will always have a special place in my heart. And, it’s always special recipes like Grandma’s Pancakes that have their place right along with them. When families and friends gather ’round, memories and recipes go hand in hand. This is the stuff life is made of…
20120513-153306.jpg

20120513-153317.jpg
Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. connie stack heise
    May 21, 2012 @ 17:33:54

    enjoyed the pictures. Dont fortet to send the pics to Wahlgreen in the Rapids so I have hard copies. My dishes with the pancakes really look nice. Grandma

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

