TWD : LEMON LOAF CAKE

This week with Tuesdays with Dorie we made lemon loaf. I had originally intended to bring it for cake Wednesday tomorrow night, but my in-laws invited us for dinner on Sunday. The menu consisted Dad’s lemon pepper salmon, rosemary potatoes and bacon collard greens. Everything but the salmon came from their beautiful garden. I figured the lemon loaf was “springy” and would make a nice finish to the meal. Not to mention the fact that eggs I used were laid by their chickens!

20120417-173809.jpg

The loaf was pretty easy to pull together. All I needed was a sieve, a bowl, a whisk, and a spatula. The recipe calls for the zest of 3 lemons. Penzeys Spices has grated lemon zest bottled that I keep around just in case. For those of you not as “into” baking as I, it works fantastically. (and if you have never visited a Penzeys Spices …. what are you waiting for? GO!) However, zesting citrus is one of the things I love most in the kitchen. It’s strangely calming and therapeutic for me. I also LOVE LOVE LOVE the way my house smells of fresh fruit when I am finished. I digress, 3 LEMONS! I was in heaven! I followed the recipe start to finish. Whisked the eggs, sugar and salt. Sifted in the flour and baking powered and whisked to incorporate. I then continued by whisking in the heavy cream and then folded in the melted butter. I poured it into my prepared loaf pan and baked. My oven is usually on par with the first number listed in baking time range, so at 50 min I checked. The sides were wonderfully golden but the upper half of the middle was gooey. Problem! I left it for 5 min longer by that time the top was much better but my sides were almost burnt :(. I let it cool and trimmed the sides. This cake is pretty dense. It has the feel of pound cake. I decided it would be nice with some strawberries and whipped cream. At the last minute I decided to pop the slices into the toaster. The crispiness of toasting it with sweet-tart of the lemon strawberry and the creaminess of the whipped cream- yum. A glass of cold milk and you are set to go. A perfect finish to our meal :).

20120417-173932.jpg

This weeks host is Treats. Go on! Click on the link and grab the recipe!
Dream Bake Believe
Love, Steffie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen Noelle
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 21:05:35

    Love the strawberries on top! Great job!

    Reply

  2. Cher
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 20:02:25

    The toasted version ith the berries and cream sounds nice.

    Reply

  3. The Double Trouble Kitchen
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 20:02:24

    Your loaf looks gorgeous! Picture perfect!

    Reply

  4. loavesandstitches
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:31:41

    I love the berries! It looks great!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

