The Birth of Cake Wednesday / Swedish Almond Visiting Cake

Happy Belated Cake Wednesday! 🙂
Cake Wednesday was born after the book All Cakes Considered inspired me to go public with my culinary passion. The author brings her cakes to work on Mondays. Once upon a time I worked every Wednesday night (are you connecting this?). I shrugged and thought to myself ” self – I could do this. No. I SHOULD do this. No I WILL do this. Maybe. Once….Just to see what happens “. Much to all my fellow coworkers excitement Cake Wednesday was born. The overwhelmingly positive response was something I had not expected. I was shocked, and continue to be, at my popularity. My boss has been told if I am scheduled under no circumstances can she move me off of Wednesday – for that- is cake day. Alrighty then. I guess it turned into more then just a one time deal. The other day I boarded the elevator and a hospital worker I never recall meeting exclaimed to his trainee ” That’s the cake girl push the button for third floor that’s where she works….” Omg. Really. The last time Dayshift sponsored a bake sale ( to which I contributed 64 slices ) the unit secretary was a little perturbed because apparently half the O.R staff called and wanted to the recipe for my Hawaiian cake…As you can see this blew up to be way more involved then I ever intended.

20120315-223531.jpg

One of the cakes that started it all was Swedish Visiting Cake. This may be one of my simplest recipes yet, it conitues to be one of the most requested. People just swoon over it! On Wednesday I opened the book to refresh myself on the exact measurements called for, and I was shocked to find the author of the recipe is actually, the one and only, Dorie Greenspan. (Ironic, yes I know. My first post was part of the group called Tuesdays With Dorie….check it out!)

The is cake is an excellent addition to just about anytime of day or any event. In Florida, it’s strawberry season. My husband will make a slice of this cake into his very own version of strawberry short cake. It would make a great change with coffee at breakfast or brunch. It also works well with tea (if your a high tea kinda person). Need an easy dessert that will travel well? How about a housewarming, welcome to the neighborhood, thanks for being a great teacher, church potluck, or picnic dessert? This one covers you on all of the above. The best part is IT’S EASY…..AND… it can be made with ingredients YOU usually have around the house. It requires no mixer ( either hand held or stand), and it has no filling or frosting. Yet, it is such a hit! Go ahead….make it …. I dare you….and if there’s any left… share it with someone. You will thank me!

20120315-222954.jpg

Swedish Almond Visiting Cake
serves around 8

INGREDIENTS

1 cup sugar
zest of 1 Lemon
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoon PURE almond extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup all purpose flour
1 stick butter, melted and slight cooled

1/4 cup sliced almonds
1- 1 1/2 tablespoon sugar

– Prepare 8″ round cake pan. Preheat oven to 350F
– Place a piece of parchment paper on a small cookie sheet and spread the almonds over it. Place into preheating oven to toast almonds. This usually takes about 5 minutes or so. They are done when they are fragrant. Check routinely once they are done they burn fast! Remove from oven and cool.
– Place sugar in medium to large bowl. Mix in lemon zest with your hands. It will become fragrant and the sugar will resemble wet sand.
– Whisk in eggs, one at a time. Then whisk in extracts and salt.
– With a spatula stir in flour until combined.
– FOLD in butter in three additions. when just combined pour into prepared pan.
– For topping sprinkle remaining sugar and toasted almonds.
– Bake for about 25- 30 minutes. A cake tester will come out clean and the edges will be golden brown.
– Cool for 10 -15 minutes if serving warm, or cool completely.

SEE! Told ya it was pretty easy! The aroma of this cake is simply out of this world! In fact, I believe I’m going to go share a piece with hubby right now. I thinking warm… with homemade vanilla bean ice cream… and raspberry sauce….. YYYYUMMMM 🙂

20120315-223250.jpg

-Recipe adapted from Dorie’s Swedish Visiting Cake in All Cakes Considered

Dream. BAKE. Believe!
Love, Steffie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 06:03:24

    If only I had families that would bake me a cake for “thanks for being a great teacher”! Great job Steph, I’m enjoying reading these posts.

    Reply

  2. Yvetteycc
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 08:01:19

    my favorite cake wished I had a piece!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

