Tuesdays with Dorie : Rugelach

My first official food related post! I’m so excited! Today’s post is part of large food blogger group called Tuesday’s with Dorie. Dorie Greenspan is an amazing chef and cookbook author. You can read more about her here: http://doriegreenspan.com/about.html . Tuesdays with Dorie or TWD is working on baking their way through Dorie’s books one recipe at a time and they post twice a month. Their current book selection is Baking with Julia. Buy it! Love this book! I happened to buy it at the French pavilion at Epcot so it was already part of my collection. I was standing in line to check out and happened upon this adorable chef’s hat.

20120306-065324.jpg
Bon appetit ( Julia child ) + Remy ( Disney) + Baking with Julia ( cookbook by Dorie Greenspan) = all is right in the world. ANYWAYS … back to TWD.

Today’s recipe is Rugelach. The name sounds wonderfully decadent does it not. Now I could have gone on my merry way and just baked these adorable little cookies up. That would have been too easy. Fascinated by pretty much all things culinary, I had to research their history. Pretty much every European country has their own recipe for these. It’s said to have ben brought over by German, Polish, and Hungarian immigrants and the word rugelach is believed to be of Polish origin. It is very popular in Jewish cooking and baking. Traditionally it is a cream cheese dough filled with a fruit butter ( usually prune or apricot) and various nuts and dried fruits ( such as figs apricots cherries dates raisins). However there is never any harm in experimenting and a little chocolate never hurt anyone. ( in fact with my extra dough I’m thinking apricot butter with almonds cherries and chocolate….yeah yum). Most would probably recognize these as the little cresent roll cookies. The ones where the dough is cut into triangles and then rolled base to point. This recipe is a little more manageable for those not looking for so much tinkering. The dough is shaped into rectangles filled and then rolled like a jelly roll into a log. After it is chilled and simply cut into rounds.

20120306-191427.jpg

20120306-191713.jpg

The dough is so easy to throw together and has about a million other uses then just this cookie. When I threw it in the fridge to chill I also threw in my marble pastry board a marble rolling pin as well. ( an awesome anniversary gift from hubby and this was my first chance to use it!) The dough is made with a lot of butter…..and I live in Florida….. This means there’s always a race to get the dough to roll out fast enough before it gets to soft.. Enter cold marble pastry board….. I am in love! I could only find prune butter or “lekvar”. I wanted to try a contrasting flavor so I also picked up cherry fruit spread. Definitely a reason that fruit butter and not fruit spread was listed. While the prune butter smoothly coated my dough, I had to work a lot harder to get an even coat with fruit spread. Rolling was… Interesting …. The spread made for to thick a filling… You live, you learn :)…..

20120306-192137.jpg

The smell that wafted through my kitchen was devine. These cookies baked up beautifully, although they are not as sweet as I thought. I preferred the prune butter with apricot chunks and a mix of toasted walnut and pecans…:)

20120306-191847.jpg

Today’s group post is being hosted by My Baking Heart You can find the recipe there! Happy Baking!

Dream. Bake. Believe.
Love, Steffie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 03:39:30

    Nice posting….. Can’t wait for your next. Update…. Mom & Dad

    Reply

  2. Connie Stack
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 19:47:07

    Hi Steff, I made these cookies last winter! Good to see you and your receipe! Nice cake cover! Grandma

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 14:42:49

    Your rugelach look great! Welcome to TwD!

    Reply

Tell me what ya think! I'd love to know!

